A Classic Meal with a Festive Touch~

 


 Halloween is a busy day in our home.  After putting the finishing touches on everyone’s costumes and verifying there are plenty of treats on-hand, I have little energy for much else.  I generally plan a one-dish meal ahead of time.  This year, I chose my father’s recipe for chile. It was a regular in our house, growing up, but I had yet to try my hand at it. In lieu of serving dad’s favorite side – buttered saltines, I chose to get a bit more festive with the meal and added a slice of cheddar in shapes of scary bats and eerie cats. 

(kidney and black beans rinsed and soaked)

(bell peppers, garlic and onions)

(organic, grass-fed beef)

Leave a Reply

