Not So Mellow Yellow~

`

Though my Mother’s Day was phenomenal, I did wake up with a pretty, bad head cold.  So, I was relieved to have an actual excuse to stay in bed for a few hours longer than normal.  An added bonus was stumbling upon a chick flick right away.  How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days is one of those predictable love stories.  And the highlight for me is the final scene where Kate Hudson appears in this yellow evening gown.  When I first watched it 8 years ago, I would’ve bet money the gown was designed by Valentino.  Boy was I surprised to learn it was actually created by Karen Pach~the movie’s costume designer.   The dress is a golden, silk charmeuse and Ms Pach created it  around the 84-carat yellow diamond pendant which Kate’s character Andi wears to the gala.  This dress was a much bigger hit than the movie and for me sits right up there with the stunning white dress by Helen Rose that Liz Taylor wore in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.  

Leave a Reply

