The Age Issue

Exactly one month from today, I will be entering a new decade.  It is a day, I have been dreading for years. Especially, in a time where(for the right price), turning back the clock on your face is well~as easy as, turning back your clock.  I think women of today, have a much harder time aging than our mothers did.  It seems after 30, mom pretty much pulled on her elastic waistband,  polyester pants and called it a day.  But now, we hear “50 is the new 40”, “40 is the new 30” and “20 is the new 10?”.  Explains a lot.  And it adds more pressure for us to spend time and money on recapturing our youth.  I also think, with looking younger, comes acting younger.  Which is not always a good thing.

 For me acting younger was, taking things for granted.  I carried this bad habit, like a coveted Gucci Bag, straight from my 20’s into my 30’s.  And though I don’t have a choice but to take my 40-year-old ass into a new decade, I do have the choice to leave that old habit behind(no pun intended).

4 responses to “The Age Issue

  1. Love this! I believe there’s a lot of people out there that try to hard to act too young for their age, but really it’s what’s in your heart and mind that keeps you feeling and looking young. Being 41 I don’t feel any different than 30, it’s just harder for me to keep up with a 4 yr old. LOL. The extra melanin in my skin and my Filipina background really helps too. 🙂

  2. Earlier this year a dear friend of mine turned 42 (she’s a year younger than me) – she decided that whenever anyone has the gall to ask what her age is she will now reply “53” – and watch their face. Her plan is simple – if she tells people she’s 53 then they’ll say “WOW – you look fabulous” rather than saying she’s 42 and them thinking “yep, she looks 42”.

    Always working the system that friend 🙂 Enjoying your blog.
    Ellie

Leave a Reply

