Closet Organization

Now that school is a mere two weeks away from being back in session, mornings at my house are about to get a bit chaotic. Between the kids and myself there are 5 outfits to plan each day. Thank goodness my husband doesn’t ask me for help with his, too. That only happens when we have weekend plans.

Keeping an organized closet is key. Here in California we don’t have much of
a change in seasons, but I know for sure I won’t be wearing my snowboarding
jacket in June. I am lucky enough to have a teen-aged son who prefers to
store(shove) his clothes in his dresser. So, I keep all my seasonal clothing and
special occasion pieces(Holiday Wear, and such) in his closet.

Last night, I ran around the house throwing things in trash bags for donation today.  I am seriously, too embarrassed to tell you just how many bags are sitting on my driveway this morning awaiting pick up.  But in any event, it has kickstarted me to once again organize my closet.

You can either set aside a few hours to do this or tackle a bit each day. Either way, here are a few tips to get you started.

1.) Go through your closet and store seasonal items. Try to store them in
another closet or in under bed bins. Label

2.) Next pull out anything questionable you haven’t worn either because it
doesn’t fit well, it’s damaged or you just don’t love it as much as you used to.
Store these items in 2 other bins and label each, respectfully. You can choose to store these, have them repaired or donate.

3.) Now, you can sort the hanging items by color. I prefer darkest to
lightest. Hang the colors next to ones that compliment each other(blues next to
browns) and so on. This will help in putting outfits together.

4.) Organize tops jackets, sweaters, long sleeves to short/tank then skirts,
long to short, pants and so on.

5.) There are a few ways to organize shoes. Store in bins or shoe boxes or
straight on a shelf or shoe organizer. Either way, I store shoes by color and
style(dress down to casual) For example, black heels, grey heels, brown heels,
then flats, sandals, flip-flops and tennis shoes.

“Less is more” is my new motto and if I don’t love it~ I toss it or bless someone else with it!  I would love to hear your tips on how you organize your closet!

Leave a Reply

