Meal Prep~

With the highly anticipated(well, by me anyway) “back-to-school week” upon us, I decided to spend the better part of my Sunday meal-prepping.  In between watching my boyfriend, Ryan Reynolds in The Proposal and the Cowboy/Chargers game~ I was able to get quite a bit accomplished.

Cooked chicken breasts~ to shred and cube for future meals(pasta, enchiladas and sandwiches).  I simply baked them for 50 mins at 375 degrees.  Cooled, shredded/cubed and stuck in the freezer after I labeled the bags.

Made red pasta sauce in the crock pot~I put 2 cans of tomatoes(a few fresh, too) in the blender along with a small can of tomato paste, 4 basil leaves, a 1/4 cup of  EVOO, diced onions and some carrot puree.  After blended, I put it in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours.  Let cool and froze.

Sliced cheese(sandwiches, crackers)~ I bought a block of cheddar from Albertson’s last week for $2.50.  I sliced and bagged it then put it in our “sandwich bin” in the fridge.

Cooked Rice~ We had Chicken Burritos last night, so I tripled my batch of rice in the cooker and will freeze the left-overs.

Today, I am going to boil eggs(for lunches) and pasta(for dinner later in the week).  I am anticipating this prep-method will continue each week, so I cut back on processed foods and ordering take-out.

**photo-momandbabylove.com

2 responses to “Meal Prep~

  1. Thats the Way!!! The boys used to hate Sundays when they would see me get the lunch bags out of the cupboard! I would pack a weeks worth of lunches (15) with fruits, veggies, juice packs, a “treat” of some kind, and the sandwiches w/o condiments! Perfect for me when trying to get three boys up for school and out the door in time to catch the bus!

Leave a Reply

